Customizing Item / Single Post Template

Hello!

I’m using Tainacan as a module on a pre-existing site that uses a non-compatible theme (inkblot). I’ve looked through the documentation on how to make a compatible child theme as well as custom templates. I’d like to tinker around with it and see if I can manage to make some tweaks to how items (single posts) appear.
Is there anywhere I can find more detailed instructions on what files I need to create and where? I’m not a developer, so I can’t fill in some of the steps I’m sure are obvious to others.
For example, the custom templates page says " To put it simply, you need .php files equivalent to the ones that Tainacan plugin registers by default." Are these something I create locally on my computer and then add to my wordpress installation? Or can I create them directly within my installation? I assume they need to be added to my theme’s files. Under what folder?

I understand this is a bit out of the scope of Tainacan-specific help, but any links or resources would be appreciated!

Hello @phantomdoodler!

Our documentation in fact goes more deep into customizing the Archive template, the Single is less explained.

Ideally you would create a child theme. But you can also edit the files directely in your theme. You would need a file called single-items.php inside a tainacan folder inside the theme root folder. In this file, you’ll be able to call our template tags to render the elements that you desire for the item template. Take a look at the source code of Tainacan Interface to have an idea:

It actually loads more files from there but if you look at their code things are quite simple. You’ll call functions like: the_title(), tainacan_the_item_gallery() and tainacan_the_metadata_sections().

Thank you! Can I do this from inside Wordpress? Or do I have to go through my host to access the theme root folder?

In Wordpress, I only see ways to edit existing theme files: